Felt Holiday Cards

A craft-enthusiast friend of mine had once showed me a picture of a wall art she made by mounting felt pads on canvas. It was simple, colorful and elegant. Since then, I had planned on using felt in what would be my first craft project in years. Handmade holiday cards seemed like a good place to start.

 
Considering that it was my first crafts project in a long time and that I was going to do it all by myself, I expected it to turn out looking like the work of a fourth grader. But I marginally exceeded my own expectations and ended up with 16-17 cards of 3 different types that I wasn’t ashamed to send out to friends.
 
Here’s the snowman, the one that took the most time:

The blue background, the black hat, black buttons, red nose, brown arms and the white body itself are all felt. The eyes and the smiley mouth are drawn using a black marker. I used the more expensive sticky-back felt for the blue background and simple felt fabric for the rest. Tacky glue works pretty well with felt.

Here’s a Christmas tree and some reindeer of which I don’t have good pictures. The glitter on the christmas tree is glitter glue and the star on top of the tree as well as the googly-eyes of the reindeer are store-bought. I was in a rush to send these out before christmas, so I didn’t have time to take good pictures. The christmas tree looked the best of all, although that’s not obvious in the picture because of the harsh flash light.

The reindeer look kinda scared because of the tad too big eyes :) But those were the smallest I could get in my local art supply store. Their horns are drawn using a brown marker.

This project was my first, began on an impulse and was completed on a pretty tight schedule. I hope to plan ahead and do better on handmade holiday cards next year. For now, this is my homemade christmas care package — handmade holiday cards with homemade hot chocolate mix — that went out to a niece, a nephew and a few friends.

Leave a Reply

